Friday, February 28, 2014


                                          THE COINS OF THE SIKHS - PUNJAB
                                                            C by Saran Singh


The Maharajas of Patiala, the Rajas of Nabha and Jind and the Sardars of Kaithal, all belonged to the Phulkian family of Sikh Jats. They were the decendents of Chaudhari Phul, the administrator of the local revenue authority, who died in 1652. These States were situated on the south of the Sutlej river and their territory reached up to the north of Delhi. They were thus known as the Cis- Sutlej States.

The Phulkian misl (confederacy) was aligned with the Dal Khalsa in 1734. In December 1763, the Phulkian misl, in collaboration with other misls, played an important part in the capture and destruction of Sirhind.


The town of Patiala, which later became a State, was founded by Ala Singh, the chief of one of the Phulkian families, in 1753. In 1762, Ahmad Shah Durrani of Afghanistan attacked Punjab. Ala Singh of Patiala was subdued and had to give an annual tribute to Ahmad Shah Durrani. Ahmad Shah conferred the title of Raja upon Ala Singh. In 1763, Ala Singh acquired part of the territories of Sirhind and added them to Patiala.

In 1767, Ala Singh’s grandson, Raja Amar Singh, was granted authority by Ahmad Shah Durrani to issue coins in Patiala (Sirhind Mint) which were in the name of Ahmad Shah. These coins were known as Rajashahi rupees. Raja Sahib Singh placed the State of Patiala under British protection, Treaty of Amritsar, in May 1809, so as to stop the expansion policies of Maharaja Ranjit Singh of Punjab into his territory. In 1810, Sahib Singh was bestowed the title of Maharaja by Emperor Muhammad Akbar II of India.

In 1849, the Gobindshahi inscriptions were introduced on the obverse of the coins of Patiala in place of the earlier Persian inscriptions.

In August 1948, the State of Patiala was merged into PEPSU (Patiala and East Punjab States Union) which comprised of the States of Patiala, Jind, Nabha, Faridkot, Kapurthala, Kalsia, Maler Kotla and Nalagarh. In November 1956, all the States under PEPSU were merged with the State of Punjab.

Rulers of the State of Patiala

 Period of Rule
Raja Ala Singh
1753   -   1765
Raja Amar Singh
1765   -   1781
Maharaja Sahib Singh
1781   -   1813
Maharaja  Karam Singh         
1813   -   1845
Maharaja Narindar Singh 
1845   -   1862
Maharaja Mahindar Singh    
1862   -   1876
Maharaja Rajindar Singh 
1876   -   1900
Maharaja Bhupinder Singh 
1900   -   1938
Maharaja Sir Yadvinder Singh
1938   -   1948
 Coin Issues                                                                         

Raja Ala Singh                           - 1 Rupee
Raja Amar Singh                        -  1 Rupee
Maharaja Sahib Singh                 - 1 Rupee
Maharaja Karam Singh               - ¼ Rupee, 1 Rupee, Nazarana Rupee, 1 Mohur
Maharaja Narindar Singh            - ¼ Rupee, 1 Rupee, 1 Mohur
Maharaja Mahindar Singh           - 1 Rupee
Maharaja Rajindar Singh             - ¼ Rupee, ½ Rupee, Nazarana Rupee, 1/3 Mohur, 1 Mohur
Maharaja Bhupinder Singh          - 1 Rupee, 1/6 Mohur, 1/3 Mohur, 2/3 Mohur, 1 Mohur
Maharaja Sir Yadvinder Singh     - 1 Rupee, 1/6 Mohur, 1/3 Mohur, 2/3 Mohur                                       

1 Rupee, Silver VS (1895) (1838)
 Maharaja Karam Singh
D: 18mm, W: 11.00g.

 1 Rupee, silver AH
 Maharaja Mahindar Singh
 D: 18mm, W: 11.00g.

1 Rupee, silver VS (19)42 (1885)
 Maharaja Rajindar Singh
 D: 18mm, W: 11.00g.

1 Mohur, gold VS (18)96 (1839)
 Maharaja Karam Singh
  D: 19mm, W: 10.75g.

2/3 Mohur, gold VS (19)58 (1901)
 Maharaja Bhupindra Singh
  D: 18mm, W: 7.40g

 2/3 Mohur, gold VS (19)94 (1937)
 Maharaja Sir Yadvindra Singh
 D: 17mm, W: 7.40g.


1 comment:

  1. well attempted. Most educative for research scholars and historians. Collection of coins,wherever, is fabulous